Main opposition parties name members of their shadow cabinet

The Conservative and New Democratic Parties have named the members of their shadow cabinet for the upcoming session of parliament. The members of the shadow cabinet are responsible for holding the government to account in their respective portfolios. Members of the shadow cabinet are often referred to as critics.

Interim Conservative Leader Rona Ambrose has chosen women for some of her higher profile critic roles. Michelle Rempel will be critic for Citizenship, Immigration and Refugees and Lisa Raitt with be the new Finance critic.

Jason Kenney, a key member of Stephen Harper’s government, was left out of the shadow cabinet. Allegedly he asked not to be included. It is assumed he will run for the permanent leadership once the process has been established.

For a list of the Conservative shadow cabinet, click here. 

All 44 members of the New Democratic Party have been given opposition critic responsibilities with a roughly 50-50 male-female ratio.

For a list of the NDP shadow cabinet, click here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s