New Parliament’s first act will be to appoint a Speaker

The first decision of the new Parliament will be to elect a new speaker when the House commences on Thursday. The members of Parliament will vote via secret ballot. In a majority government the speaker normally comes from the governing party.

Four candidates are vying for the role of speaker:

Denis Paradis (Liberal)

Yasmin Ratansi (Liberal)

Geoff Regan (Liberal)

Bruce Stanton (Conservative)

Ottawa-area MP Mauril Bélanger was expected to also be a candidate, but revealed on Monday that he has amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS or Lou Gehrig’s disease); and withdrew from the race.

Conservative MP Andrew Scheer served as Speaker from 2011-15; he won’t run again for the post. Interim Conservative Leader Rona Ambrose recently named Scheer Opposition House Leader.

The deputy and two other alternate Speakers (the three are officially named the chair, deputy chair and assistant deputy chair of the committees of the whole) will be named following Thursday’s election.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s