Prime Minister Trudeau Names Parliamentary Secretaries

Prime Minister Trudeau named 35 Liberal MPs as parliamentary secretaries in anticipation of the House of Commons resuming sitting this week. Parliamentary secretaries assist and represent ministers in their absence, including taking questions on the minister’s behalf.

The Prime Minister will have three parliamentary secretaries. While three may seem like a lot, Trudeau appears to be following in the footsteps of former PM Paul Martin who also used three and assigned some specific areas of focus.

Considered junior ministers, high-performing parliamentary secretaries often get promoted to the front bench. It is also considered a consolation prize for those passed over for cabinet.

For a list of the new parliamentary secretaries, click here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s