Prime Minister Trudeau appoints 7 Independent Senators #cdnpoli #senate

The government began working on its promise to create a more independent Senate by appointing 7 new members to the upper chamber. The appointments were based on the recommendations of an arms-length advisory board created by the Liberal government.

Here are the new members of the Canadian Senate:


Chantal Petitclerc – former paralympian

Andre Pratte – former editor-in-chief of La Presse


Peter Harder – former federal public servant and head of the Trudeau transition team

Frances Lankin – former NDP cabinet minister and MPP in Ontario

Ratna Omidvar – chair of Lifeline Syria


Raymonde Gagne – former president of Universite Saint-Boniface

Justice Murray Sinclair – first Aboriginal judge in Manitoba and chief commissioner of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission

Peter Harder was named government representative in the Senate. It will be his job to steer government legislation through the Senate.

The conservatives criticized the appointments. They maintain the new process does nothing to make the appointment of senators more democratic.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s