Last Week’s Poll Results #cdnpoli #pollresults @JustinTrudeau

By an overwhelming majority, all respondents want Prime Minister Justin Trudeau to keep his promise regarding electoral reform.




MP Bryan May to host town hall on Electoral Reform with Democratic Institutions Minister Maryam Monsef September 14th #electoralreform #cdnpoli

If you live in the Waterloo Ontario area, MP Bryan May will be hosting a town hall on electoral reform on Wednesday September 14th. Democratic Institutions Minister Maryam Monsef will also be in attendance. The event will take place at the Stanley Park Community Centre (505 Franklin Street North, Kitchener, Ontario) at 7:00 pm.

If you would like to attend, RSVP here.

Special Committee on Electoral Reform to Reserve Time for Audience Participation #cdnpoli #electoralreform

The special committee on electoral reform is holding meetings over the summer in order to come up with recommendations for replacing the first-past-the-post electoral system.

The committee will met on the 6, 7th, 25th and 26th of July. It will meet again July 27th, 28th, August 22nd, 23rd, 29th, 30th, 31st and September 1st. The minutes don’t clarify where all those meetings will be held, and the chair of the committee is authorized to make changes as necessary.

The committee has decided there will be an open mic at each meeting with time set aside at each meeting for people to speak “on a first-come first-served basis”.

Canadians can also use the Twitter hashtags #ERRE and #Q to submit questions to the committee.

Finally, the committee is inviting Canadians to submit briefs, up to a maximum of 3,000 words, by October 7th. Canadians have until that date to make requests to appear before the committee.

For more information on the committee, visit the Parliament of Canada’s website.


Parliamentary Committee begins study of electoral reform options, will work over the summer #cdnpoli #electoralreform

The parliamentary committee tasked with studying options for electoral reform has met and will hold hearings through the summer. The committee will elect a chair next week.

The committee members are:

Liberals:                         Conservatives:

John Aldag                        Scott Reid

Matt DeCourcey               Gérard Deltell

Sherry Romanado

Ruby Sahota

NDP                                  Bloc Québecois

Nathan Cullen                   Luc Thériault

Alexandre Boulerice

Green Party

Elizabeth May

The committee will debate the merits of various electoral systems and whether or not a referendum is necessary.

Source: CBC

Government voluntarily gives up Majority on Electoral Reform Committee #electoralreform #cdnpoli

Maryam Monsef, Minister of Democratic Institutions says the government will support an NDP motion that would see the electoral reform committee’s membership reflect each party’s share of the popular vote in the last election.

The government will have five seats, three for the Conservatives, two for the NDP, and one seat each for the Bloc Québécois and Green parties.

The new committee structure means at least two parties will have to support the committee’s proposal.

The Conservatives accused the Liberals and NDP of making a back-room deal to push forward their desired reforms. The insist any changes to the electoral system should be put to a national referendum.

Once the committee is struck, it will have less than six months to report with recommendations to overhaul the electoral system.

Elections Canada has said legislation would have to be put forward in early 2017 to make ready for the next federal election in 2019.

Source: Toronto Star